版主:丁丁家長
萬維讀者網 > 海 二 代 > 帖子
女兒的帖子
送交者: jingchen 2017年11月10日11:44:28 於 [海 二 代] 發送悄悄話

Papa always said to me:

Do what you love — and do it well. 
Focus on creating high quality work. 
Do not slave on the dreams of others.
Do not waste your time on anything else.

My daddy is a mathematician (a finance professor by trade).
My mama is an artist (a poet, a painter, a sculptor, a chef).

They are inventors and dreamers and creators of possibility. Who curated a most beautiful upbringing for my four brothers and me. They were not perfect by any means but— they taught us to do what we loved.

Mama stayed at home. And when I was little, daddy was always home too. They played with us and made time for us and taught us a million things. They read us books and took us on adventures and always prioritized the family. We travelled the world and lived amongst many cultures and expanded our little minds.

They had the highest expectations of us. They were strict and traditional in the way Asian parents are, and they wanted no less than the best. But instead of forcing us to learn many things, they instilled a love of learning in us. They fanned the flames of our innate curiosity and taught us how to play.

Nothing was ever handed to us. Everything was earned. They taught us the value of hard work and discipline, without ever losing sight of our dreams.

By eleven, I had my first job. I was teaching little kids how to figure skate to pay for my own lessons on ice. I was always the first kid on the ice and the last one off— because I valued every moment of that precious time. Other kids would sit and chat as the clock ticked on and I would be practicing, practicing, practicing. Nothing was ever taken for granted, not in our home.