设万维读者为首页 广告服务 技术服务 联系我们 关于万维
简体 繁体 手机版
分类广告
版主:纳川
万维读者网 > 天下论坛 > 帖子
Brief Introduction of China in
送交者: Chenark 2022年05月26日06:32:28 于 [天下论坛] 发送悄悄话

I started to know about Jiayang Fan from his mother’s experience and some subjective comments about China. Jiayang Fan is a Chinese-American who immigrated to the United States when he was a child, and he is a columnist working for The New Yorker. As a journalist, I think he can describe an event, person and social phenomenon in China in a more objective, fair and pure way in The New Yorker. Comparatively speaking, I prefer his reports on the situation of Chinese Americans (racial discrimination). After all, he has a better say and a more comprehensive and profound understanding of the country where he is raised. Unfortunately, we see more reports about China, where he left when he was young, and one-sided reports about China that seem to rely on the unequal information with American, which are surmised from his knowledge of Chinese and obtained from his family connections in China.

Jiayang Fan has enjoyed his reputation as a writer for The New Yorker, but not as much as his predecessors Peter Hessler and Evan Osnos. However, as a Chinese American writer, I think I can use three words to comment his reports on China issues: “skimming over the surface”, “esoteric writing” and “less objective”.